This article is useful for: Community Administrators, Space Administrators and to all members.
This is an option module and may not be enabled for your Igloo site. If you encounter any problems please contact support@igloosoftware.com
What is the Igloo Desktop Client?
The Igloo Desktop Client is an tool that is used to display Igloo work areas as folders and files on your PC. The most common operations performed on a folder/file within Igloo (i.e. upload, download, move, rename, reserve) can be performed from your desktop.
The Desktop Client also enables inline edit. To edit a document in the web application, click Edit Now in the preview window to open the file in a format-compatible application. Once you save changes, a new version will be automatically uploaded to the site, without requiring a download to your desktop.
The Desktop Client supports Microsoft Windows 7, 8 and 8.1, requires .NET 4.5 and can be enabled by contacting Igloo support.
For additional documentation, check out the articles on how to use or uninstall the tool.
Installation
The Desktop Client installer comes as an executable file that must be downloaded.
- Double-click on the file to begin installation, the Igloo Desktop Setup Wizard will appear. Click "Next".
Note: If you receive a Security Warning dialogue box, simply ignore the warning.
2. Read through the Terms of Use. Select "I accept the Terms of Use" and click "Next" to continue.
3. The files by default will be downloaded to C:\Program Files\Igloo Desktop\ but you can select another location if desired. Click "Next".
4. If your servers use a proxy, select "Proxy Information" and enter the information in the field provided. If your servers do not use a proxy, select "Not Applicable". Click "Next" to continue.
5. Enter the URL of the igloo site you would like the Desktop Client to connect to. If you are a member of multiple communities with the same credentials, the Desktop Client will locate and connect to those as well.
6. If an older version of the Desktop Client is already installed, a query will ask if you would like to replace it.
7. Once installation is complete, you will need to restart your computer before using the tool. A dialogue will appear asking if you would like to do that now, or later.
